Summertime Sun Tea

I was hesitant to post this recipe because I don’t have cute pictures to go along with it. However I can’t let that stop me from today’s post. 

My favorite summertime beverage is sweet tea. I have a tea maker which is fabulous but last summer I wanted to try something new. I searched Pinterest for a sun tea recipe and have since made my own recipe over the past 2 summers. 

You will need: a glass container (I found a gallon size jar at Walmart last summer. This spring I found a jar with a drink spout. Best thing ever!), tea bags, large spoon or spatula, sweetener, water and of course sunshine. 

When I first started making sun tea I measured everything out exactly. Now I just go with it. 

Fill your large glass jar with cold water. I use black tea but I guess you can use whatever tea you would like. I have found for taste to use 1 tea bag per cup. In my gallon of water I use 16 tea bags. 

This summer I made a lot of peach flavored tea. I added 3 flavored tea bags with 13 black tea bags. 

You will want a sunny day to make your batch of tea. I have noticed the hotter it is outside the less it has to sit outside to steep but it’s all about preference. Last summer I was crazy and tracked how long I let it steep along with the weather and temperature that day. All for research I guess. 🙂 

Set a timer for 3-4 hours. I notice it doesn’t taste good if steeped longer than 5. (I was running errands and I forgot about it outside.) 

Once it’s complete, bring it inside right away. I use between 3/4 cup to 1 cup of sugar. I like to add the sugar at this point while the tea is still warm. Then cool for a couple of hours in the fridge and it’s really to enjoy! 

What’s your favorite summertime beverage? Do you have a favorite recipe? Share with #SWMBlogChallenge on social media. 

-Let your light shine. 

Leave a Reply

