the #NameYourDay challenge

I joined Periscope a year ago on June 29. I was home over summer break and saw an Instagram post wanting you to watch her broadcast on Periscope. I downloaded the app and became obsession. I’m able to view live stream broadcasts from all over the world. That evening I stumbled upon a PeriGirls Pass the Cast (PTC) event. Women were sharing about a group on Facebook for women Periscopers. The PeriGirls offer free training and scoping inspiration. These women had so much energy and excitement. They motivated and inspired me. Before Pass the Cast was over I had joined the group. One of the ladies I met during PTC was Summer Davis @DirtyFloorDiary. She was sharing about the Name Your Day challenge. It intrigued me and I had to find out more. I soon met Pepper Ferguson @unicornbeauty. She introduced me to her challenge group on Facebook PSChallengers. For the month of July they were having the Name Your Day challenge.

See my previous post to learn more about naming your day.

So for the entire month of July I challenged myself to picking a positive word each day. I soon noticed a change in my life.

Over the past year I have off and on again picked up this challenge of naming my day a positive word. I even named my year at the start of 2016. (That’s another story for another day.)

I noticed 2 things change in my life.

I had a shift in mindset. I struggle with anxiety and depression. Often I woke up looking forward to the nap I would take after work. I was missing deadlines because I was feeling overwhelmed and stretched to the max. I felt like I was trying to get up a steep hill  riding on a tricycle. When I started naming my day a positive word, I set intentions for the day. I was focusing on the positive instead of looking at the negative. I noticed I was becoming more productive, patient and kind not only to others but to myself. I was changing from within. When I see my day turning toward the worse, I would draw on that positivity to refocus and find motivation.

Last summer I find one of my new favorite quotes. “Be the kind of person you want to meet.” I reevaluate myself frequently to make sure I am the person I want to meet and be friends with. Not just seeming that way from the outside but beaming with light and love.

It took me awhile to realize there were some negative people in my life I needed to cut out. I have a coworker who is always a “Negative Nancy.” I once thought I enjoyed being around her until I realized she was bringing me down. Whenever I interacted with her, I left feeling sad, anger and anxious. It was very difficult but I had to cut her out of my work friend circle. Now I still interact with her on a professional basis but I no longer seek out her company. I needed to distance myself from her so she wouldn’t suck me into her black hole of negativity.

Do you have “Negative Nancys” in your life? Do you wake up in the morning feeling defeated?

Join me for the month of July in the #NameYourDay challenge. I will post daily on Instagram, Periscope, and Snapchat. Share your NameYourDay word with me by using the hashtag #NameYourDay on social media.

-let your light shine

 

Leave a Reply

